Centering Prayer or heartfulness has its Christian distinction of "The consenting of the will to the love of God". When we have let thought and emotions go what do we have left but pure will? What normally stimulates our wills to act? Sometimes feeling and sometimes thought - intuition and rationality. In CP we are bypassing those two functions so that a direct line to God may be our will's pure inspiration. In life there is little time to think and feel and then will in order to act. INTIMATE SYNCHRONICITY TO THE WILL OF GOD WILL ENABLE PURE ACTION.
Jesus said "If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love.. This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you."
Note Jesus did not say "If you abide in my love you will keep my commandments" but rather the reverse "if you keep my commandments you shall abide in my love" ... It is the "pure act" from the "consenting of the will to God" (not the internal emotional or rational appropriation) that is the essence of abiding. Pure intention -> pure action -> reflection and experience.